Prof Dr Teruo Miyazawa

President Federation of Asian Nutrition Societies (FANS)

“Regional Partnership and Multistakeholder Collaboration: Together in Advancing Public Health Nutrition”

Teruo MIYAZAWA is now working as a Project Leader and Professor of the Food and Biotechnology Innovation Project in a New Industry Creation Hatchery Center (NICHe) at Tohoku University, Sendai. He is now also Professor Emeritus of Tohoku University and Professor at the Graduate School of Agricultural Science (GSAS), Tohoku University.

He received his Ph.D. in Lipid Chemistry from Tohoku University where he developed a CL-HPLC method for measuring lipid hydroperoxide formed in food and human body. He carried out his research as a visiting scientist in the USDA Human Nutrition Research Center on Aging (HNRCA, Director Dr. Irwin H. Rosenberg) at Tufts University, Boston, to study oxidative challenges on the human brain in Alzheimer disease using the CL-HPLC device.

In 1998 he was appointed a Professorship on food chemistry and nutrition at the GSAS, Tohoku University, and is author and co-author of over 560 scientific papers, book chapters, books, and patents on the health functionalities of food lipids, lipid oxidations, vitamins, antioxidants and biofactors.

He received Japan Oil Chemists' Society Award 2000; JSNFS (Japan Society of Nutrition and Food Science) Award 2009. In 2010, he received the ANDO Momofuku Prize and the IIJIMA Food Science Prize. In 2014, he received JSBBA Award for excellence in research on analytical chemistry of food components and nutrients. In 2015, he received the Japan Vitamin Society Award and the LOTTE SHIGEMITSU Science Award, and he received Medal with Purple Ribbon from the Emperor for his lifetime devote to food science and nutrition research.

Dr. Miyazawa serves now as President of the Federation of Asian Nutrition Societies (FANS, Tokyo, 2015-2019); Chair of the 12th Asian Congress of Nutrition at Yokohama 2015; Council Member of the International Union of Nutritional Sciences (IUNS, London, 2013-2017), Executive Trustee of the International Life Science Institute (ILSI, Washington, 2016-present), Member of the Science Council of Japan (2009-present), and Former President of JSNFS (2012-2014).